Victoria’s top sustainable schools named

Congratulations to Brentwood Secondary College (Waste School of the Year) and Loretta Leary from Mount Waverly Primary School (Teacher of the Year) for being named finalists in Victoria’s biggest sustainability awards for schools.

The finalists have been announced by Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Lily D’Ambrosio, ahead of the presentation ceremony in October.

The ResourceSmart Schools Awards is celebrating its tenth anniversary and marking it with the announcement of the Leadership School of the Year and the School of the Decade awards.

This year’s Awards focused on the theme ‘a decade of school wins for the environment’ and have inspired school communities to take sustainability and climate action, while providing learning opportunities for students.

Sustainability Victoria received 150 entries from 87 schools including crowdfunding projects for the installation of solar panels, grey water ponds, garden beds, aquaponics ponds and beds, re-used tyre and sleeper walls and amphitheatre, permaculture area, compost system, orchard, swales and reptile enclosures.

More than 1300 government and non-government schools have joined the ResourceSmart Schools program, receiving support to embed sustainability into all learning areas and levels of the Victorian Curriculum, with their progress and success measured by a star rating.

Quotes attributable to the Member for Eastern Metropolitan Region, Shaun Leane   

“Congratulations to Brentwood and  Loretta from Mount Waverly  for their hard work in this year’s ResourceSmart Schools Awards. The standard for this Award is very high so they have made our community proud.”

“Congratulations, too, to Sustainability Victoria for a great program that’s encouraging young Victorians to care about their school environment, the wider community and the world in general.”