Eastern Metropolitan

About the Eastern Metropolitan Region

Eastern Metropolitan Region covers a 382km2 area of the eastern suburbs of Melbourne. The Region had a population of nearly 579,000 at the 2006 census.

The EMR contains the major activity centres of Ringwood, Doncaster, Glen Waverley, Heidelberg and Box Hill and many other vibrant and active business, shopping and community hubs.

The Region is made up of the 11 Legislative Assembly Districts of:

  • Bayswater
  • Box Hill
  • Bulleen
  • Croydon
  • Eltham
  • Ferntree Gully
  • Forest Hill
  • Ivanhoe
  • Mount Waverley
  • Ringwood
  • Warrandyte

There are five members of the Legislative Council representing Eastern Metropolitan Region.

Shaun Leane MP represents the Australian Labor Party.

The Australian Labor Party also holds the seats of Eltham  and Ivanhoe in the Legislative Assembly within the Region. Eltham is represented by Vicki Ward MP and Ivanhoe by Anthony Carbines MP.

To work out which electorate you live in please click on the following link to the Parliament of Victoria’s website.